Often happens to us that what prevents us from approaching a new activity is the ignorance of it, making it seem impossible or inaccessible. The same thing happens with Yoga, and especially because, as I told you in previous posts, many people think that in order to start the practice you have to have specific physical characteristics.

To start doing Yoga you only need desire, but understanding that you have to start somewhere,  I am going to show you an exercise that can help you to condition the body, giving it clear insights into the main asanas that we will encounter in our personal practice.

 Sun Salutation A is one of the main sequences, it is composed by a series of movements mainly composed of 9 asanas:

  • Samasthiti (Standing Straight)
  • Tadasana (Mountain Pose)
  • Urdhva Hastasana (Upward Salute)
  • Uttanasana (Standing Forward Bend)
  • Ardha Uttanasana (Upward Forward Fold)
  • Phalakasana (Plank Pose)
  • Chaturanga Dandasana (Four-Limbed Staff Pose)
  • Urdhva Mukha Svanasana (Upward-facing dog)
  • Adho Mukha Svanasana (Downward-facing dog )

With these 9 asanas a cycle, called Sun Salutation A will be performed, before explaining the connection of each of the asanas, it is important to keep in mind that the ascending movements will always be accompanied by an inhalation, and descending movements with an exhalation, always through the nostrils. The breathing used for the practice is called Ujjayi, where inhalation and exhale is performed through the nostrils, feeling that the main effort is made by the throat.

Once this has been explained, we will begin with the explanation of  Sun Salutation A, taken from the book Yoga Sequences by Mark Stephens:


  1. Standing with feet together, only touching the sides of the thumb, but not the heels, arms next to the body, palms looking at the hip, neutral pelvis, back, shoulders and neck erect
  2. On an upward movement extend the arms outwards and upwards of Samasthiti to Urdvha Hastasana (Inhale)
  3. Fold forward and down into in Uttanasana (Exhale)
  4. Extend the spine and center of the heart forward in Ardha Uttanasana (Inhale)
  5. Hold the inhalation of Ardha Uttanasana and go with two feet back (first right and left then or vice versa) or if you feel confident with a jump back without moving your hands from  the ground
  6. Slowly release the knees-chest-chin to the ground forming a sequence (Exhale)
  7. Root the palms of the hand and raise the chest to Urdhva Mukha Svanasana with legs rooted in the ground (Inhale)
  8. Put your hands and knees on the ground or directly up and back to go to Adho Mukha Svanasana (Exhale)
  9. Take a step forward (with the same leg as you stepped back) or jump forward with both feet (holding the exhalation from Adho Mukha Svanasana)
  10. Extend the spine and heart centre forward into Ardha Uttanasana (Inhale)
  11. Fold forward and down into in Uttanasana (Exhale)
  12. Start going up inhaling deeply until you reach Urdhva Hastasana (Inhale)
  13. Exhale and bring your hands to the heart with the palms together, Samasthiti and then Tadasana, arms next to the body, palms looking at the hip, neutral pelvis, back, shoulders and neck erect

The sequence is repeated by each side of the body to equalize the energies.

This circuit is an excellent way to initiate the connection between breathing and body movement, additionally warm up the body as a preparation for all asanas. You can start making 10 rounds on each side!

I hope that with this explanation you will be more motivated to practice 🙂 !!!

Namaste ♥

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: